Breast Cancer Affects 1 in 8 Women – Help Me Beat Those Odds

18 10 2009

Quick! Think of eight women in your life. It might include you, your wife or girlfriend, your daughter, friends, co-workers, or neighbors. There are probably a lot of women you have contact with in your life, I just want you to think of eight of them. OK, you have the eight in your head? Good. Now decide which one of those eight you wouldn’t mind getting breast cancer. It’s not something you want to answer, is it?

The National Cancer Institute predicts that one in eight women (or 12.7 percent) born today will develop breast cancer sometime in her lifetime. Sure, right now there is a seven-in-eight chance that you or any woman you know will not get breast cancer, but most likely, you are going to know someone.

I have nine nieces and I don’t want any of them to get cancer, but chances are that one of them will. I have a total of eight sisters and sisters-in-law. I don’t want any of them to be affected by breast cancer, but the odds aren’t in my favor there either. There is a good chance that two or three of the women that I played on softball teams with this year will be diagnosed with breast cancer. In my last two jobs I interacted with numerous women on a daily basis. If things don’t change, seven of them could be affected. 130 of my Facebook friends are women. At a minimum, 16 of these wonderful women will most likely be diagnosed with breast cancer. This is just a glimpse of the groups of women in my life and there are too many potential victims of breast cancer for my liking, so I decided to take a stand … or more accurately, take a walk.

This year, I am participating in a very special event, the Breast Cancer 3-Day in San Diego, CA.

Over the course of three days in November, I will walk 60 miles with thousands of other women and men. The net proceeds will support breast cancer research, education, screening and treatment through Susan G. Komen for the Cure and the National Philanthropic Trust Breast Cancer Fund.

I’ve agreed to raise at least $2,300 in donations. I know I can raise even more than that, and have set my personal goal at $4,000. So I need your help. Would you please consider making a donation of $60? Keep in mind how far I’m walking – and how hard I’ll have to train. That is just $1 per mile and it’s tax deductible! (If you can donate more that would be even better! If you can’t donate that much, please give whatever you can.) You can donate online at my personal Breast Cancer 3 Day Fundraising page. You can also call 800.996.3DAY to donate over the phone. If you want to donate through the mail, let me know and I’ll get you a donor form to mail in.

1 in 8 is too high for me! Let’s help protect the women in our lives! Together, we can make a difference in the fight against breast cancer! Donate today!

Thank you in advance for your generosity!

Sincerely,
Nested Lez (A.C. Teeple)

P.S. Ask your employer if they will double your donation through a matching gift program.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

