Which of the 8 Women You Know with Get Breast Cancer?

18 03 2009

Quick! Think of 8 women in your life? Could be your mom, sisters, friends, wife, partner, girlfriend, daughter, nieces, coworkers, and even yourself. Did you think of 8? OK, now pick one of those to get breast cancer. Not something you want to do, is it? Well, lucky for you, you don’t have to make that decision of who gets breast cancer. Unlucky for you, chances are 1 of those 8 women will get breast cancer.

Not a pretty thought, is it? And yet, if things stay the way they are 1 in every 8 women will be diagnosed with breast cancer in her lifetime. I don’t like those odds. At this point in my life, I have been lucky enough to not be personally affected by breast cancer, but I know if those statistics don’t improv it is only a matter of time. If it is not me, I know that someone I love will be diagnosed with the disease. That’s not something I am ready for.

I’ve decided to do something about it. I have decided to walk in the Breast Cancer 3-Day this November in San Diego. In order to do my part and walk, I need to raise at least $2,300; however, my personal goal is to raise $4,000 personally and for my for my team to raise at least $7,500 (preferably more … and if my team continues to grow I want to raise over $10,000). I am training to walk 60 miles in 3 days. Will it be tough – absolutely. Will it be worth it? If it gets us closer to finding a cure, it will be worth walking 600 miles!

Please help me reach my goal. Sponsor me or a member of my team: Team F.A.B. (For All Boobs). Use the link below to donate money to this wonderful cause and to help me fight breast cancer!

Amy’s San Diego Breast Cancer 3-Day Donation Page

Thank you so much for your help! Let’s change 1 in 8 to NONE in 8!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

