Back on the Blog Train

21 01 2009

Wow. Once the holidays started, my schedule got pretty hectic. There were, of course, the obligatory holiday gatherings, the visits to family, shopping, wrapping, traveling, side jobs to make some extra cash, and the list goes on and on. In the frenzied pace of the holidays, it looks like I overlooked the blog. Whoops. Sorry about that folks. Okay, it’s time to get back on track.

My place of employment, which shall remain nameless, has been going through some major issues and the holidays and the New Year brought two waves of layoffs and a substantial reduction of salaries across the board for anyone who kept her or his job. Following the salary reduction (and almost loss of benefits), more people left unable to continue in the current environment. (Oh, did I mention that we hadn’t been paid on time for about 6 months – checks are typically anywhere from a few days to a couple of weeks late.) The exodus of people (and pay) made things a bit strained and took a bit of a toll on me, from which I am starting to recover.

I find myself in a rather odd position, I am definitely feeling the strains, both financially and mentally, of not only the cash flow issues of my company, but also the overall suckiness (I don’t care if it’s really a word, it fits here) of the U.S. economy and joblessness rate. However, I want to reach out and help others who are also struggling – a difficult thing to do when you don’t have the money or time (since I’m using my free time to try to make more money) to give.

How can I rectify this situation? Well, it’s not the most wonderful solution, but I thought I could share some information (and links to the sites) about some companies and causes that I would love to help, but am a little stuck right now. There are many great small businesses and noble causes that could use your patronage. Below are a few that I hope you will support, if you are able.

The San Diego Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Community Center is a wonderful resource for the LGBT community in San Diego County. The Center offers outreach programs for everyone from LGBT youth to LGBT seniors, events celebrating and supporting the LBGT community, the Woman’s Resource Center, and so much more. Unfortunately, the LGBT Center needs money to keep these wonderful events, programs, and resources going. If possible, please make a donation to the San Diego LGBT Center. I was able to give $25 before my financial situation got tighter, but no donation is too small. Even if you can only give $5, that will help and remember, all donations are tax-deductible. Please consider supporting this wonderful organization.

Month after month, Bixi B. Craig pours her heart, soul, and resources into publishing The Lavender Lens, a lesbian (and friends) monthly magazine for San Diego and other areas of Southern California. I am privileged to write a monthly column (which this blog is an extension of) in The Lavender Lens. Please pick up a free copy of this wonderful magazine, read it, and patronize the advertisers. Also, check out this wonderful women’s magazine’s website for more updates and information. If you are a business in Southern California, advertise with The Lavender Lens. Your support is needed to keep this magazine alive.

The Human Rights Campaign (HRC) and Equality California (EQCA) are both wonderful organizations that have been instrumental in the fight for LGBT rights, including the fight against Prop 8. Even though the election is over, these two organizations continue to battle the issue of marriage equality. If you can, please either volunteer your time or donate money (or both) to these organizations. They will continue to fight for our rights.

Although not a gay-owned business, I need to give some love to Clean Freak Cleaning Services. This up-and-coming San Diego maid / office cleaning company is a small business that offers great services from house and apartment cleaning throughout San Diego County to office and janitorial cleaning in San Diego. The owners are not only trying to keep their business afloat, but also flourish in this trying economy by offering affordable cleaning services with great customer service. (Yes, I know the owner, which is why I want to help them out here.)

If you would rather support gay-owned and LGBT-related businesses, check out the directory at the GSDBA. The GSDBA, or Greater San Diego Business Association, is an organization that “promotes business development to increase economic opportunities for our members, the LGBT community and all who support business equality.” Please patronize these gay-owned and LGBT-friendly businesses. If you are a LGBT-friendly San Diego business, join this wonderful organization.

There are many other businesses and organizations that I would love to help out, but that is my start for now. Although 2009 has gotten off to a shaky start (economically, anyway), I have great hope for all this year has to hold. I need to keep focused and find ways to shift my game plan to match whatever gets thrown at me. Here’s to a great 2009. Happy (belated) New Year!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

