Not Surprised by the Governor’s Veto of Same Sex Marriage Bill

13 10 2007

Unfortunately, I can’t say that I’m surprised that Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger vetoed AB43, the bill that supported same sex marriage in California. Granted, a small part of me had hoped that the governor would have a change of heart like Jerry Sanders, the Republican mayor of San Diego, but in my heart, I knew he would veto the bill. Am I disappointed, of course. But, this is the second time that a bill like this has made it as far as the governor’s desk. Who knows, maybe the third time is a charm.

I also need to remember that the California Supreme Court is currently investigating if Proposition 22, which was voted on in March 2000 and bans same sex marriage, is unconstitutional. So my friends, there is still hope.

What we need to do is to continue living in loving, committed relationships. Although I deserve the rights given with a civil marriage, I am not going to let a politician let me feel that my marriage (or in the state’s eye’s my domestic partnership) is any less valid than my parent’s marriage. Continue to love each other and live the best lives you can.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

