Who Made Them the Moral Authority About What Rights I Should Have?

18 09 2007

I am not a politician, nor do I have any desire to be. In fact, other than the fact that I am registered to vote and that I tend to exercise that right, I am not political in any sense. Yes, I tend to lean towards the left and look for gay-friendly politicians, but it doesn’t mean that I have never voted for a Republican.

That being said, I don’t like politicians and courts who deem my relationship any less important than the relationship my siblings share with their spouses. I have been with my partner for over six years and we were married in 2003. For those of you who are ready to tell me that I can’t possibly be married to another woman, please allow me to clarify. My partner and I held a ceremony officiated by a minister in which we declared our love for one another in front of our family, friends, and God. We also registered as domestic partners with the state of California. So, no, literally I am not married; however, in my mind, I am married. Unfortunately, although I share a loving union with my wife, I do not get the basic rights that come with federal marriage.

What really gets me is the fact that politicians who do seem to grasp that they are withholding rights from me, get to make decisions stating that, although I pay my taxes, am a functioning and contributing member of society, and am in a loving and strong relationship, I do not deserve the same rights as my brother or two sisters.

Furthermore, certain religious groups dare tell me that the life I am living is immoral and that I will burn in hell for loving someone. Who gives them the right to deem what is moral? God? I am a fan of God, but it is my understanding that God will have the only say in what is right and what is wrong. Without going into specifics, don’t some of these organized religions have enough to worry about with their own “scandals of immorality”?

Unless someone wants to get to know me and see how I live my life, I don’t appreciate that they take something as beautiful as my love for my wife and demonize it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

